Obligatory Green Smoothie Recipe

Why obligatory? Well what lifestyle (even fashion or home) blog do you know that doesn’t have a billion variations of the almighty GS? This is my go-to though. It’s rich and creamy and indulgent. I’m not a fruit-smoothie kinda gal. I’d rather eat my fruit and drink a mylkshake!

So without further ado, here is my every day healthy mylkshake (still a green smoothie!) recipe!

IMG_0971

Serves 1:

  • 1 frozen RIPE banana
  • Roughly half a cup frozen zucchini (trust me! I’ve done this for years and it’s incredible)
  • Fresh leafy greens of choice (If you do frozen greens, make sure at least half of your banana is not frozen, it will be really icy and not as creamy/dreamy if all these components are frozen)
  • Half a cup of thai young coconut flesh (sub: 1-2 tbs nutbutter, chia seed gel, half an avocado)
  • 1 medjool date
  • Optional: cacao powder, vanilla extract, sweetner of choice, protein powder

I put the non frozen components in first and blend that up, if you do this first, you don’t have to use as much liquid which results in the creamy-spoon-worthy-needs-a-bowl type of smoothie that I personally love! So through in whichever component is not frozen and a tad of almond/cashew/coconut/unicorn mylk or water you want and then add the frozen zucchini. Once that has blended a little, add the frozen banana (or spinach if you used fresh banana) and lastly add in powders, magic potions, and sweetners!

Above is the most simple you’ll ever see one of my smoothies. I normally am a wild toppings girl and add berries, nut butter, all the seeds, goji berries, mulberries, another date chopped up, and as pictured above, coconut oil “magic shell”. I just stir melted coconut oil and cacao with a dash of maple syrup and pour onto the smoothie, then stick it in the fridge for a minute to harden! Who needs a milkshake when you’ve got this bad boy!?

IMG_0967

PS! I’ve been having major tummy troubles lately and this is literally one of the only things that DOESN’T hurt my belly!

Leave a Reply

